The Singapore Land Transport Authority (LTA) has awarded two civil contracts for the construction of five stations on the Jurong Region Line (JRL).

The contract to design and construct Choa Chu Kang, Choa Chu Kang West and Tengah stations has been awarded to Shanghai Tunnel Engineering (Singapore).

This S$465.2m ($337m) contract includes the construction of a 4.3km viaduct.

The Shanghai Tunnel Engineering agreement also encompasses alteration works to the current Choa Chu Kang station, which is on the North-South Line. This will integrate the station with the new JRL station.

Eng Lee Engineering-Wai Fong Construction joint venture won the S$274.3m ($198.7m) contract for design and construction of Corporation and Hong Kah stations along with the construction of a 3.4km viaduct.

Construction will start next year and is expected to be complete by 2026.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData

Shanghai Tunnel Engineering has been involved in other railway infrastructure projects, including the Circle and Tuas West line, as well as the ongoing project constructing three underground stations along the Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL).

The three stations are being built at Tanjong Rhu, Katong Park and Marine Terrace stations along the TEL.

In 2018, LTA and the Singapore Land Authority (SLA) unveiled the alignment and station locations for the Jurong Region Line (JRL), the seventh mass rapid transit line in the country.

The plan, after reviewing engineering studies, involves the construction of a 24km-long line with 24 stations, including three interchange stations at Boon Lay, Choa Chu Kang and Jurong East.

The JRL scheduled to open in three phases starting 2026.