The Government of New South Wales in Australia has announced that the first stage of Sydney Metro will commence services from the last week of this month.

New South Wales Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Minister for Transport Andrew Constance have confirmed that the North West Metro will open on 26 May with services running from Rouse Hill to Chatswood.

Overall, the metro line comprises 13 stations between Tallawong and Chatswood. Currently, final commissioning of the driverless trains to run on the line is underway.

The vehicles have already completed more than 180,000km of trial runs testing. The testing included high-speed tests and calibrating the rolling stock with the platform screen doors.

Covid-19 Report — Updated twice a week Understanding the Covid-19 outbreak, the economic impact and implications for specific sectors

Covid-19 executive briefing report cover

Our parent business intelligence company

“We have delivered the North West Metro on time and more than A$1bn under budget.”

It also included loading a train with more than 100 1,000-litre water tanks to simulate passenger loads.

Berejiklian said: “This is an exciting time for the future of public transport. Thousands of commuters will have access to world-class metro rail.

“We have delivered the North West Metro on time and more than A$1bn under budget.”

Sydney Metro is designed as a fully accessible railway system. All the stations are equipped with lifts and level access between platforms and trains.

At peak hours, trains will run on the line at a frequency of four minutes. However, during the initial six weeks, trains will operate on the line every five minutes at peak.

Constance said: “The Metro line is currently being extended from Chatswood to Bankstown and by 2024 Sydney will have 31 metro stations and a 66km standalone metro railway.”