Indian Railways has laid foundation for the Rs42.9bn ($843m) Rishikesh-Karanprayag rail project, connecting Garhwal region with the rest of the country.

The 125km rail line includes construction of 12 stations, 81 tunnels, 128 bridges (45 major and 83 minor) and a 535m viaduct between Sakni and Devprayag, all of which will be carried out by the state owned Railways Vikas Nigam (RVNL).

The line will pass through Dehradun, Tehri Garhwal, Pauri Garhwal and Chamoli districts, facilitating faster travel between Rishikesh and Karanprayag.

The rail line will provide rail access to pilgrimage places such as Kedarnath and Badrinath shrines, and provide connectivity to Devprayag and Rudraprayag.

Out of the 81 tunnels, 19 tunnels will have a length of more than 1km; the longest one, which will be built between Sakni and Devprayag, will be 4.475km .

The project will reduce the journey time from Rishikesh to Karanprayag from eight hours to four hours, and is expected to be completed in five years, according to

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.