Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has inaugurated two Mumbai Metro Rail Lines, 2A and 7, valued at nearly Rs126bn ($1.5m). 

With a length of 18.6 km, Metro line 2A (yellow line) links Dahisar East and DN Nagar in Andheri West. The phase II has been extended by 9 km covering 8 stations from Andheri West to Valani.

Trains on the lines will be capable of driverless operations and incorporate communication-based train control (CBTC) signalling systems. However, initially they will be manned.

Female passengers will have a separate coach and each station will include a lady security officer. 

The 2A line has 17 stations including Lower Oshiwara, Oshiwara, Goregaon (West), Valnai, Dahanukarwadi, Kandivali (West), Pahadi Eksar, Borivali (West).

Other stations are located at Andheri (West), Pahadi Goregaon, Lower Malad, Malad (West), Eksar, Mandapeshwar, Kandarpada, Upper Dahisar and Dahisar (East)

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

The metro line 7 spans nearly 16.5 Km between Andheri East and Dahisar East. It has 13 stations at Magathane, Devipada, RashtriyaUdyan, Ovaripada, Gundavali, Mogra, Jogeshwari (East), Goregaon (East), Poisar, Aarey, Dindoshi, Kurar, and Akurli.

Its phase two will comprise four stations from Goregaon East to Gundavali spanning 5.2 km.

MMRDA officials said that both the Metro lines will have a new interchange station at Andheri East’s Gundavali and Andheri West.