The trains operating on the Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar regional rapid transit system (RRTS) will have a design speed of 180km/h. Credit: NCRTC.
The Delhi-Alwar RRTS project is being implemented in three stages. Credit: NCRTC.
Geotechnical investigation for the RRTS project began in February 2019. Credit: NCRTC.

The Delhi-Gurugram-Shahjahanpur-Neemrana-Behror (SNB)-Alwar regional rapid transit system (RRTS) is being developed to improve connectivity to industrial and urban areas in the national capital region (NCR) of India. It will link Delhi, Gurgaon, Rewari, and Alwar.

The detailed project report (DPR) of the project was approved by the National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC) board in December 2018 and by the state governments of Haryana and Rajasthan in 2019. NCRTC is responsible for designing, building, financing, operating, and maintaining the RRTS project.

The pre-construction works including road widening, the shifting of utilities, initial pile load tests, and topographical surveys in Gurugram and other places.


The project is being developed in three stages. Stage 1 involves the construction of a 106km-long corridor from SKK in Delhi to SNB, through Gurugram and Rewari. It will include a 71km elevated section and a 35km of underground section. It will feature 11 elevated stations and five underground stations.

Stage 2 covers a 33.3km-long corridor from SNB to Sotanala while stage 3 will extend the corridor to Alwar.

Route and station details

The high-speed, high-frequency, high-capacity corridor will have a total length of 164km, connecting Sarai Kale Khan (SKK) in Delhi and Alwar in Rajasthan, passing through Munirka, Aerocity, Gurugram, Sotanala, and Rewari.

The electrified double line will adopt a broad gauge (1,676mm). It will include 22 mainline stations, including 17 elevated stations and five underground stations.

The corridor will be equipped with a 25kV AC single phase 50Hz overhead catenary traction system.

Rolling stock for Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar RRTS

Light-weight, air-conditioned, stainless steel coaches, with a length of 24m and a width of 3.66m, will be used in the corridor.

Six-car trainsets are expected to run on the line until 2030, with plans to run nine-car trains from 2031. Each car will have three doors on either side.

The trains are expected to have a design speed of 180km/h and a maximum operational speed of 160km/h. Each train is expected to include a ladies coach and a business-class coach. It will have space to accommodate wheelchairs for persons with disabilities.

The maximum passenger capacity of each car is expected to be 428, including 328 seated passengers.

Signalling and train control

A continuous automatic train control (CATC) system is proposed to be used for signalling and train control on the RRTS. It will comprise automatic train protection (ATP), automatic train operation (ATO), and automatic train supervision (ATS) systems.

Communications and fare collection

The Delhi-Gurugram-Shahjahanpur-Neemrana-Behror (SNB)-Alwar corridor will be installed with terrestrial trunked radio (TETRA) and optical fibre cables (OFC) for the telecommunication and passenger information system.

The project will use a computer-based automatic fare collection (AFC) system and contactless smart token/card type ticketing system.


The total estimated investment in the Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar RRTS project is Rs407bn (.

The Indian government is funding 20% of the project cost while the respective state governments are funding 20%. The remaining 60% is provided by bilateral and multi-lateral agencies.

Benefits of Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar RRTS

The Delhi-Alwar RRTS is expected to reduce road congestion in Gurugram, Sotanala, Rewari, Shajahanpur, and Neemrana. It is also expected to reduce pollution and road accidents and encourage the use of public transport.

The travel time between SKK and SNB is expected to be reduced from four hours to less than 70 minutes, upon completion of the project.

The travel time between Rajiv Chowk and the Indira Gandhi International (IGI) airport is estimated to be ten minutes while travellers from Manesar will be able to reach the IGI airport in approximately 20 minutes.

The RRTS will be integrated with other transport systems such as Delhi Metro stations, inter-state bus terminals, airports, and Indian Railways to provide seamless connectivity.

Contractors involved

Larsen and Turbo (L&T) was selected as the detailed design consultant for architectural, electrical, and mechanical work for Udyog Vihar, Sector 17, and Rajeev Chowk stations and elevated viaducts between IDPL Complex and Rajiv Chowk Ramp.

Agarwal Power, Vishal Enterprises, KV Prateek Enterprises, and Galaxy Concab were chosen for shifting and modifying electrical distribution lines along the corridor.

Aquarian Enterprises, a local company, received the contract for shifting and modifying extra high-voltage (EHV) lines of Haryana Vidyut Prasaran Nigam (HVPNL).

Urban Mass Transit Company (UMTC), an urban transport consultancy firm based in India, was selected to conduct a feasibility study and prepare the DPR.

A consortium comprising URS Scott Wilson India and Consulting Engineers Group was contracted to provide consultancy services to perform the feasibility study for the project.

A joint venture (JV) between Systra MVA Consulting (India) and AECOM India, part of AECOM, received a contract to provide detailed design consulting for civil, architectural, and electrical and mechanical works for seven elevated stations.

Unitech Engineers, Vikas Geotechnical, RITES, CEG Test House and Research Centre, and Shree Balaji Test House were appointed to undertake geotechnical investigations.

SS Solutions was engaged to perform location survey, topographic survey, and other miscellaneous survey work for the section between SKK and SNB.

Other similar rail corridors in the NCR

The Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar corridor is one of the eight corridors proposed by the National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB) to connect urban, industrial, regional, and sub-regional areas in the NCR through a rail-based RRTS.

The remaining seven proposed corridors include Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut, Delhi-Sonipat-Panipat, Delhi-Faridabad-Ballabhgarh-Palwal, Delhi-Shahadra-Baraut, Delhi-Bahadurgarh-Rohtak, Ghaziabad-Hapur, and Ghaziabad-Khurja.

The first phase of NCRPB’s project includes three priority RRTS corridors, namely the Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar, Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut, and the Delhi-Sonipat-Panipat.