The District of Columbia Metro Transit Police Department in the US has installed 20 exterior surveillance cameras for passenger security at 12 Metrorail stations in the District of Columbia and Fairfax County.

The company secured $200,000 from the District of Columbia for 17 cameras and $75,000 from Fairfax County for four station cameras.

The cameras are expected to prevent crime and help the police with criminal investigations. Metro Transit Police Chief Michael Taborn said, “Having cameras monitoring the streets leading to our stations gives us extra eyes to see what’s going on in and around our system.”

The 12 stations – Rhode Island Avenue-Brentwood, Congress Heights, Deanwood, Minnesota Avenue, Fort Totten, Takoma, Brookland-CUA, Columbia Heights, Georgia Avenue-Petworth, Tenleytown-AU, Vienna/Fairfax-GMU and Franconia-Springfield Metrorail – were identified based on the criminal statistics by the Metro Transit Police Department for criminal investigation.