Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) has started pre-construction works on the Light Rail Transit Line 1 (LRT-1) Cavite Extension project.

The new development will connect the existing line, which currently comprises 20 passenger stations, to an 11.7km alignment that featuring eight additional passenger stations.

The new stations will be Aseana, MIA, Asia World, Ninoy Aquino and Dr Santos Stations in Parañaque City, Las Piñas and Zapote Stations in Las Piñas City and Niog Station in Bacoor, Cavite.

LRT-1 has been built to support train speeds of up to 80km per hour, and a commercial speed of 60km per hour.

LRMC president and CEO Rogelio Singson said: “The Cavite Extension will serve an additional 300,000 commuters and will significantly reduce travel time from Bacoor, Cavite to Manila from about two hours to about 40 minutes.

“We considered the accessibility of the new stations to shops, schools, and offices to better suit passenger flow from residential and commercial areas.

“LRMC envisions the eight new stations of the LRT-1 to foster a commute that is direct, smooth, and safe for all passengers.”

The objective of the project's overall design is intended to integrate the LRT-1 with other modes of transportation.

"LRMC envisions the eight new stations of the LRT-1 to foster a commute that is direct, smooth, and safe for all passengers."

LRMC signed a concession agreement with the Government of Philippines to operate and manage LRT-1 and construct the Cavite Extension in October 2014, and the company assumed operation and management of the transit line in September 2015.

LRVs were repaired during this timeframe in order to increase the number of functioning vehicles to 100 by December 2016. LRT-1 is also undergoing a rail replacement project to upgrade the line's almost 33-year-old tracks.

The company recently inaugurated the new LRT-1 Doroteo Jose station, which will serve as the improvement project's pilot station.

The development is also set to involve structural upgrades and the addition of new facilities across the 20 existing LRT-1 stations.

Image: Officials from the local and national government and LRMC gather to break ground the LRT-1 Cavite Extension Project. Photo: courtesy of Light Rail Manila Corporation.